Use Cloud function instead instead of parse on client sdks?

Hello Parse Community!

This is going to be my first post, so a quick introduction: I’m a junior mobile developer who has still a lot to learn.My friend and I found the gold mine which is parse a year ago and it’s been amazing since. We could develop great apps because of it! The journey of developers is an exciting one and what I like is that we always look forward to learn new things and improve our methods. Hence I need to ask you a question : Considering that I’m an android developer and my friend an iOS developer each one is still using parse own sdk for each platform. But wouldn’t it be better if we implement all the code that requires an interaction with the database with cloud function so it’s just in one place instead ?
Thank you for your responses and long live the parse community! :tada:

I can recommend to move (most of) the Parse code to CloudCode functions. The only downside IMO is that when you add a new feature, you have to touch three codebases (both of your apps + the backend); so for prototyping features you still might want to start coding client-side and then transfer the logic to CloudCode later on. But in general, terms of maintainability and testability it works great.

Hey,

Cloud Code is the place where your business logic should be placed. If you have for example cloud code function “getUsersWithAvatar” where you filter your users by existing avatar. It will be simple to call this function from your iOS, Android, Web etc. apps and just get the payload and do whatever you want with it in your frond-end (iOS, Android, Web etc.).

So … in short … Yes! Parse Cloud Code is your friend :slight_smile:

Hope this will help you :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hey guys, thank you for your replies. Will definitely start looking more into cloud coding! :slight_smile:

1 Like