Complex queries and need for ElasticSearch

Hello,

please pardon my limited experience as this is my first project with Parse Server and in programming world overall (a mechanical engineer here…).

I am trying to build mobile app that would connect people mainly for language tandem, fellow travellers, compatriots in foreign country and also allow to date (as we all know Tinder). Visual side is pretty defined and you might have a look on the prototype here: Felse

I decided to go with Parse to not lock the project in Google Firebase and as I am already at the phase where I need to define back-end and freeze the data structure I would like to kindly ask you for your opinions and experience. If such topic should be opened elsewhere I apologise, feel free to point me on other forums.

As you might noticed there are multiple types of search and each has a little different criteria. Apart from the “travel” one I got it working and it is also fetching data fast enough when I have only a first 10 fake profiles in my prototype database. I constructed following query function in swift (Xcode):

func fetchProfiles(completion: (([Profile]) -> Void)? = nil) {

guard let userController = self.userController else { return }
    let currentProfile = userController.currentProfile
    let currentUser = userController.currentPrivateUser
    let currentGender = Gender(rawValue: currentProfile.gender)
    guard currentGender != .notDefined else {
        if let topVC = UIApplication.topViewController() {
            UIAlerts.setGenderAlert(viewController: topVC)
        }
        return
    }

//create basic query with values that are common for all specific queries
    var basicConstraints = [QueryConstraint]()
    //restrict age to prefered range
    basicConstraints.append(contentsOf: ["age" > currentUser.minAge, "age" < currentUser.maxAge])
    if currentProfile.sameSexualityOnly {
        basicConstraints.append("orie" == currentProfile.orientation)
    }