[Discussion] Parse dashboard as mobile application?

Hey guys. I was thinking that maybe parse server should have a mobile dashboard? What do you think about that? Is this topic discussed anywhere before?

One possible problem with this: How are we gonna distrubute ios app? For android we can build an APK and people can download from github. But for IOS we need to upload it to app store. Handling app store can be tricky. Like who will be responsible for app store? There is also membership cost which is 99$ per year.

What do you think about this?

I think that’s a good idea. Maybe the community can handle the costs. Another idea could be a progressive web app.

I was thinking a cross platform solution with react native. I will start work on this. Let me see what I can do.

2 Likes

Hey guys. I started coding mobile dashboard. I want your ideas about design before it’s too hard to change. This is current state. I choose bottom bar for navigation instead of side menu like web. Bottom navigation feels nicer on mobile. What do you think?

1 Like

The bottom bar is a good UI element if:

• you know today that you won’t need more than 5 items in the future
  • each of these items are heavily used by users; if an item is not heavily used it would be placed somewhere else to not take up priority screen estate

Very nice work! If you want we can create a new official Parse repository parse-dashboard-mobile for the mobile app where you can develop this and use all the GitHub feature to get feedback. We can also pin a call across this forum and the Parse Dashboard repository on GitHub to help you get the community engaged.

Below are some implemented dashboards for iOS and Android:

Can download from the App Store here:

There’s also an Android one:

Play store link:

1 Like

What would be the advantage of developing a native / cross-platform mobile app, compared to web app with a proper responsive layout?