How To Replace OnActivityResult With New Activity Result API?

Hi All,

I wonder if someone may be able to assist with my struggles :slightly_frowning_face:, I’m new to Kotlin, after implementing facebook login following the documentation into my application I have realised that onActivityResult() is deprecated (though it still works for the timebeing).

I am trying to adapt my code to work with the new Activity Result API’s (I have saw the suggestions online to use registerForActivityResult) however, my issue is that in the code from the documentation we are only calling a method ParseFacebookUtils.logInWithReadPermissionsInBackground rather than handling the calling of the activity nested within this method. As such, it seems I am unable to capture the result of the activity being started within this method as I cannot change the call to use registerForActivityResult and unsure how this can be achieved without being able to change the code.

It is possible I am missing something simple here (which may be due to my inexperience with Kotlin) however, I am completely stuck and been going around in circles for nearly a week to no avail :frowning: so thought asking the experts would be my best option at this point :slight_smile:

Would you mind to share the piece of code that you are struggling with?

Hi @davimacedo

The piece of code I’m struggling with is below:

val permissions: List<String> = listOf("public_profile", "email")
        ParseFacebookUtils.logInWithReadPermissionsInBackground(this,permissions) { user: ParseUser?, err: ParseException? ->
            when {
                err != null -> {
                    Log.e("FacebookLoginExample", "done: ", err)
                    Toast.makeText(this, err.message, Toast.LENGTH_LONG).show()
                }
                user == null -> {
                    Toast.makeText(this, "The user cancelled the Facebook login.", Toast.LENGTH_LONG).show()