Is Parse a good alternative to Firebase?

Hi, is parse server a good alternative to firebase? I am new to parse and I know facebook has stopped supporting parse. So, I want to hear people’s opinions. Thanks

1 Like

It may not offer all features of Firebase, but once you spend some time learning Parse and setting it up - which may not be always so easy and polished like Firebase, you will own it.

And that is the biggest plus. I have been through 5 major companies killing 5 major dependencies of my little app over the past 10 years, that was like one major migration every two years.

So if you are serious about your idea, do not go with Firebase, if you want to just get something quickly up and running, then yes, Firebase may be quicker and more polished in the beginning, but becoming a time bomb in the long run.

Just my .2 cents,
Martin

2 Likes

I use parse server for the last few years.
You can easy build beautiful apps in no time. The only thing is when you host it by yourself and don’t have the “DevOps” Knowledge about Docker or whatever you want to use.

There are several BaaS outside you could use and test for a quick setup.

1 Like

In addition to this, parse server (MongoDb actually) has a very powerful query language. I was using firebase 2 years ago. I was using realtime database but queries was pain in the ass. They later solved alot of problems with firestore but it’s still can’t get close to parse.

1 Like

Thanks for anyone’s kind response. After the facebook stopped supporting parse, has the community added many features to parse? Also, should I use GraphQL with parse? Thanks

Yes. A lot of feature has been added including the GraphQL support, which is fully operational.

Thanks for the warm welcome and answers. I have decided to give parse a try!

2 Likes

Great to hear @hkblue!

As Davi said, lots of features, to many to list! - but they are all listed in the Parse Server changelog - almost all of which is since the departure of FB.