Oracle MBaaS Based on Parse

Hi Parse Community,

Over the last 6 months, the team has been working on a Parse storage Adapter for Oracle Autonomous Database. We have released a POC that provisions Parse Server and the Dashboard to a Kubernetes Cluster that is configured to hit an Oracle Cloud Database. More can be found here:

and here

https://oracle.github.io/microservices-datadriven/mbaas/

We hope to merge the Oracle Storage Adapter into the public Parse repository as soon as I can get all the tests to pass.

Let us know what you think and happy MBaaS’ing
Regards
Doug

3 Likes

Hi Dough, that’s amazing to hear! Let us know how testing goes; if helpful we can post a tweet on our @ParsePlatform account to invite developers to help you with testing.

Hi Manuel,
That is all great and appreciated.
We have some work still to do.
Been running the suites in /spec
Hoping to get this completed within the first half of the year.
I am new to this so what would be the steps in getting the Oracle Storage Adapter integrated into the project? Pass all test suites? idk
And if you could tell folks about it @ParsePlatform, again greatly appreciated
Doug

Hi Doug,

I’ve been trying do this for a while with my MySql Adapter but didn’t have time. I believe there is a way to grab the /spec and override helper file. I’ll look into it as there is a plan to move adapters to a separate repo

We currently have all DB adapters inside the Parse Server repository. We plan to move the adapters into separate repositories (or convert everything into a mono-repository), but that hasn’t happened yet. You are right that technically you’d want to run all the tests in Parse Server using the Oracle DB adapter. We don’t have a concept yet for how to do that.