Questions about ACL and Super User

Hello,

In my studies at Parse Server I intend to set up the following scenario.

I have the class of “announcements” made by users where only he himself will be able to read and write the records.

However, I need to create an administrator where I will have Read and Write permission as well.

Would that be a “Role”?

That is, I have to create a “role” with the name “administrator” and in this rule put the ObjectId of users who are administrators.

And in the records of the class “ads” the ACL have I maintain that only the owner will have the right to Read and Write and the “role” administrator will also be able to read and write?

In other words, when I am logged in as an administrator, I will have access to all “ads” classes.

Is my understanding correct? That’s right?

Parse iself has the masterKey-concept, where whenever that is available - e.g. in the dashboard - a lot of other checks are ignored, including ACL. If you only have a single user (like yourself), you can use that system.

Yes.

Parse also has the nifty class-based ACL. If you have a field for the user, you can configure the class to only allow access to the user in that field (e.g. an “owner”-field) as well as a global group. That’s only if you want a single group with access to all items. If, instead, there are adminnistrators per item, then it must be configured on the ACL-field for each item, yes.

1 Like

Perfect, thanks for the clarification.

1 Like

@gnunicorn , I did a test now and it doesn’t seem to work …

When setting “Edit Class Level Permissions” to “role” administrator, the user does not see the documents, only if they have been set in the registry.

Did I do something bad or does this class rule not work?

do you mean “administrator” by “user” here? Or the specific user and their own items?

Do you still have an ACL on the object? Because they only limit, it doesn’t overwrite see JavaScript Developers Guide | Parse